The information below provides additional history about one of the sixteen points of interest along the tour.  Visit Essex, Massachusetts and enjoy our self-guided tour to learn more about each historic Essex location on the interpretive signs.

 

OLD SOUTH ESSEX ENGINE HOUSE
Chebacco No. 2 hand tub, Essex, Massachusetts
CHEBACCO NO. 2
 

(circa 1908) Hand tub, Chebacco No. 2 pulled here by horses, was also pulled by men. It bears the slogan, "WE WILL TRY". A schooner under construction is visible on the far right of the photo.

< Click the photo for a larger view
The "Pump" 1921 Ford Model T, Essex, Massachusetts
THE PUMP
 

(1921) Built from a Ford Model T, the "Pump" followed the previously used hand tub which was pulled by men or horses.

< Click the photo for a larger view
1/2
WOODMAN'S of ESSEX

A Yankee Tradition Since 1914

 

The former Old South Essex Engine House is now owned by Woodman’s, a historic clam shack serving customers in their restaurant next door.  Chubby Woodman invented the fried clam in 1916.  The year 2014 marked their 100th year as an Essex family business. 

Plan your trip to Essex, Massachusetts: www.VisitEssexMA.com

The Historic Essex Walking Tour is sponsored by the Historic Essex Walking Tour Committee, Essex Community Preservation Committee and Essex Merchants Group.

Website Design Copyright © 2014 - 2019 Artfluence